Summer Nail Colour Review: Essie ‘Eternal Optimist’ (plus a little outfit post)

I am one of those people that will always be seduced into buying different shades of nail varnish. I love brands like Essie & OPI as their palettes are always great & application is worth paying a few extra pounds for. There is nothing worse than a thin watery colour that streaks when applied & takes more than 3 coats to become a block colour. Who has the time to sit & wait for it to dry?! Despite having quite a few different shades of varnish from pastels to vampy, from glitter to matte, I always find a good red is my Go-To colour ( currently it’s a dark cherry from Barry M) It is like red lipstick ; You never feel quite right with anything else.

I had bought,on offer, 3 for 2 on Essie Nail Varnish a few months back. My sister is a massive nail freak & she often will lets me know if there is an offer on! One of the three I bought was ‘Eternal Optimist’ – it’s a nude salmon pink that isn’t too pink.Essie Eternal Optimist Betty Draper

Essie Eternal Optimist Nail PolishEssie Eternal Optimist Nail Polish

I hadn’t got around to even trying it yet but am now really taken with the colour. It is a very late 50’s to mid 60’s feel about it, which I think is a nice option for summer. I could see Betty Draper using this colour. It will even go with pastel coloured summer dresses, aswell as more neutral tones! If you haven’t tried any Essie as a varnish- then I suggest you do. They have great wear & easy application with a flat brush. Something I wish OPI would change about their brushes.

The shirt in the background is one I bought a few weeks ago from a charity shop in Brighton. I think it’s relatively modern but I fell in love with the hand embroidery on the front & sleeves.

Vintage Chinese Blouse

Check out the attention to detail on the sleeve with the scalloped edge – Whoa Mumma

DSCF0355DSCF0354DSCF0353

Vintage Blog Brighton

I wore it with my VOH pencil skirt

I also bought myself another woven bag, which I wore with my outfit pictured above on Saturday night at Tail End Charlies. This time it is a knitting bag style & it was under £10. Love the handles!

DSCF0370Vintage Blog Brighton BagDSCF0381

Have any of you got any nice knitting style bags?

Speak soon Love VV xxx

One thought on “Summer Nail Colour Review: Essie ‘Eternal Optimist’ (plus a little outfit post)

  1. Pingback: A round up of June | Vintage Vessel

Leave a Reply

