39 Steps & 3 layers

Hello there, sorry about the sudden silence! I am gearing up for a busy month ahead & have been somewhat of a recluse of late. Preferring to nestle down in bed & enjoy a Gin at home.

I did Guest DJ at Tail End Charlie’s at the beginning of last month which was a really great night run by Mr Mat Keller of Southern Retro fame

Tail End Charlie's Vintage DJ Brighton Vintage Vessel

Your entertainment for tonight: Mat, Christina & Myself

vintage vessel blog brighton

Wine Time with my fellow guest DJ Christina

vintage vessel blog brighton temple bar

Don’t worry the mic wasn’t plugged in!

It’s a really great monthly night & I was really excited to play. I got to wear my 1950’s Atomic fleck dress (as featured in my post Thursday’s Child) from Wolf&Gypsy too. Man I love that dress!

I also realised I hadn’t blogged about my trip to see 39 Steps with Sadie, how that got elbowed onto my blog back burner I have no idea, as I had an amazing time going to see it at The Theatre Royal in Brighton!

The original motion picture from 1935
The original motion picture from 1935

The plot is adapted from the 1935 by Alfred Hitchcock (although the original idea was taken from the book from 1915) & features only four actors, this means that there are constant & clever character changes in every scene. Combined with a very Morcombe & Wise approach to the comedy, it really was enjoyable to watch.

39 steps brighton vintage vessel

The two central characters Richard Hannay & his unwilling companion Pamela from Hitchcock’s 1935 film

the-39-steps

The film is definitely worth a watch!

I can’t say enough how brilliant it is & if you ever get a chance to go & see it then I recommend it. This is my second play this year as I went to see Top Hat in January..

Here is an interview Sadie did for The Vintage News ;

And what would a blog post be without some snaps of our outfits!

39 Steps Theatre Royal Vintage News

Sadie looking super elegant

Vintage Vessel Theatre Royal 39 StepsCoat was an Ebay find

vintage vessel blogIt was a chilly evening so I had three layers on!

DSCF9841I am wearing my trusty American Apparel skirt, Late 1950’s powder blue sweater & 1940’s check jacket both Beyond Retro

So this Saturday it’s another Ric Rac Club hosted by the super glamorous Vintage Mafia – the theme is Circus & I still haven’t decided on an outfit! I am really looking forward to it though!

Catch you again soon, Love VV xxx

One thought on “39 Steps & 3 layers

Leave a Reply

