‘Whistling in the Dark’ Album Launch at The Floridita, Soho

I had had a cold since Saturday & when my day off came round by Wednesday I was still feeling a bit gross but determined not to spend the day vegetating (a la my Easter Bank Holiday) I had booked in at my friend & hairdresser Paul’s salon (Cove) to get a trim & make myself feel a bit better. I then saw on Facebook that Alex Mendham & his Orchestra had their album launch at The Floridita – Should I go…? I sniffed my Olbas oil soaked tissue & texted the only other person I knew would give me that last nudge into running home to set my hair, grabbing a dress & hot footing it on a train upto Soho to attend the event….Sadie

Of course she said yes! And so I set my hair, I decided to wear my 1940’s black Crepe dress that I hadn’t had an event to wear to yet & we grabbed the 6 o’clock train…

The lovely Deco style white leather booths add serious glamour (of course, so do the attendees)

The lovely Deco style white leather booths add serious glamour (of course, so do the attendees)

Here is the man himself with his Orchestra

Here is the man himself with his Orchestra

Everyone looked great & the dancefloor was busy most of the evening

Everyone looked great & the dancefloor was busy most of the evening

The Floridita is situated in bustling Soho with a great cocktail bar, providing guests with a place to make an entrance down the spiral stair case and soak up some 1930’s inspired decor. Alex Mendham & His Orchestra did a sterling job & picked a great place to promote both their Album & refined style. I absolutely love being immersed in such mid week glamour.

Here is moi in my 1940's dress from Wolf & Gypsy in Brighton

Here is moi in my 1940’s dress from Wolf & Gypsy in Brighton

My partner in crime Sadie

My partner in crime Sadie

DSCF9761

This Ladies dress was stunning!

DSCF9760

Another example of the glamorous evening dresses on display

There was also a prize for Mr & Mrs 1932, our friends Russel (of Russel Nash London Tour Guide fame!) scooped the Mr award along with a copy of the Album ‘Whistling in the dark’

DSCF9730

There are more photos on The Vintage News page : HERE

So all in all it was a great evening & I am really glad that we went up. It got me thinking that I really should go up to London more often & that I should partake in spontaneous decisions more often! (plus it gives me yet another excuse to buy more clothes to wear to said events…)

Love VV xxx
.

2 thoughts on “‘Whistling in the Dark’ Album Launch at The Floridita, Soho

Leave a Reply

