Cosmetic Lust #1: Tangee Lipstick

As a Golden Era Gal I absolutly love cosmetics, I think even if I wasn’t, I would still love cosmetics. From perfume to moisturizer, from the top of my head to my toes. I love the packaging, I love to indulge myself & be utterly seduced by packaging & promises. In a previous post I blogged about a 1940’s Max Factor ‘How To’ booklet I found (which I can promise you, is still in pride of place of my vanity table and I look at it probably more than I would like to admit) Well in many of my blog wanderings, I came across Lauren Renolls’s absolute goldmine of a blog ‘Bobby Pin Blog’. I have definitely passed her amazing articles before & have heard of her Retro Hair & Make up books. She linked a website for ‘Cake Mascara’ from Longcils by Boncza: The Original Cake Mascara (I said ‘Ohhhhhh’ & my pupils probably dilated with lust!) I am familiar with Besame Cosmetics & they do a more than sterling job both in presentation & quality. I have heard alot of great review on their Violet Powder.  Anyway this then led my to another makeup brand, also on the site recommended by Laura’s blog, that I had never heard of before – Tangee

Even the name conjures up images of mystery & the exotic…I started doing some research & I thought I would share some of the advertising campaigns & glamorous faces that endorsed the products. One of the first products was their Lipstick that,wait for it, changes colour to suit you! (by the way I am ordering one of these babies as soon as I get payed!) This was quite the selling point & is still in production today.

61436_set

The colour changing Lipstick (click for source)

Chinese Tangee magazine adverts from the 1930's (click for source)

Chinese Tangee magazine adverts from the 1930’s (click for source)

Another example of a Tangee advert from the 1930's (click for source)

Another example of a Tangee advert from the 1930’s (click for source)

Tangee Powder tin - Gorgeous!

Tangee Powder tin – Gorgeous!

A campaign showing how the lipstick will suit all hair & skin types from the 1930's (click for source)

A campaign showing how the lipstick will suit all hair & skin types from the 1930’s (click for source)

Gay Red! Absolutely!

Gay Red! Absolutely!

Tangee is still with us into the 1950's (click for source)

Tangee is still with us into the 1950’s (click for source)

To be honest Tangee had me at the Oriental 1930’s design! A few people have blogged about their experience with the lipstick most notably for me is Lucky Lucille (I only found her musings through searching for reviews & now am a fan!) I also stumbled onto many a vintage & antique cosmetic collector site, I have seen the odd nice bit of vanity set or empty lipstick tube but my gosh there is some beautiful items out there. I would never say no to a slice of that!(or more a slither with my budget)

I will let you know how I get on with Tangee when I order myself one, I am really intrigued to find out what shade it shows on me! I would also be very interested on your opinion on vintage cosmetics & which you use? Or if you too find yourself at the feet of the Deity  ‘Cosmetica’

Love VV xxx

2 thoughts on “Cosmetic Lust #1: Tangee Lipstick

Leave a Reply

