Hitting the decks!

Howdy!

It was Cotton Tail Club on Tuesday & it was an amazing night, the bar was packed out & the lovely dancers from Sussex Swing came down. I managed to take a few snaps (with my new camera!) as I am really trying to document my night more. I love doing it so much & even though I’ve been doing it every Tuesday for over a year, it never feels like a chore and it’s often a place that my friends come down to as many of them are fellow DJs and finding a night where none of us are doing a gig is pretty rare! I get Wednesdays off from the Boutique too, so infact it tends to feel like more of a party before my day off! I love putting an outfit together every week (I know Matt does too but he probably wouldn’t admit it!) This weeks at Cotton Tail Club Sadie (The Vintage News/Vanity Case) came down to spin a few records with me & she did a mighty fine job too (a highlight was ‘Do the Clam’ by Elvis Presley – this is the song as featured in the movie ‘Girl Happy’ from 1965 – it’s a ‘so bad it’s good’ kinda vibe!)

A few snaps:

DSCF9404

DSCF9400

Sadie behind the decks

Sadie behind the decks DSCF9412

DSCF9413

I didn’t manage to take a photo of my outfit but I took a few shots of me playing around with my camera after a few cocktails when I got home. Matt decided that a red light bulb would make our Lounge look more Tiki (think seedy strip joint or a cover of a Las Vegas Grind Album!) Any way it was cool to have a play…

DSCF9439

Decided to go for a ‘member of the French Resistance’ look plus I love a Beret!

DSCF9452

DSCF9430

On the subject of more Cotton Tail Club related things, I was invited to play at one of the Brighton Museum ‘After Dark’ events, I was really excited as I didn’t really know what to expect. They opened the Museum after hours from 7 till 10pm & had lot’s of activities going on including cocktails, origami classes & talks on their latest exhibition on climate change on the South Coast ( a bit more info can be found on their website) Unfortunately my blasted phone ran out of battery but I managed to get a snap of my view from where I did my set before it died…

6664_10152722169270647_2110787936_n

Rather distracting! (this was before everyone arrived by the way!)

One last thing before I go, I wanted to pop a link to a very simple 1940’s ‘S’ wave tutorial from the enviable Miss Turnstiles – it’s a very honest & useful video. Vintage hair is all about the trial & error, it’s about finding what works for you & I think she does a great job here! Plus her ‘S’ wave is one of the best around, so she must be doing something right! Right?

Love VV xxx

One thought on “Hitting the decks!

Leave a Reply

